Parlay

It was a late night parlay. We were playing Russian roulette-and we knew it.

I was outside of my body.

I was already long since out of my own mind. Which made it easier to say screw it let’s do this.

You were deep in your fiend and my heart was deeply in need of a companion who lived and breathed. 

I was so innocent that night. Convinced that all I did was drive. As I watched you come back from the shadows with a smile in your eyes.

I was simply going to try. But I awoke after sleeping the dead of the dope.

Surrounded by bags with traces of powder lining the inside. 

It is never just a late night ride. It is never just one time. 

And I lost you forever that night to the devil dressed in white.

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/parlay/”>Parlay</a&gt;

5 thoughts on “Parlay

Leave a Reply

